• Home
  • News
  • Sally Bick's Unsettled Scores Available Now

Sally Bick's Unsettled Scores Available Now

"Sally Bick has given us a thoughtful, fair-minded, and unfailingly engaging study of radical undercurrents in 1930s and 1940s Hollywood, with an emphasis on two very different composers, Aaron Copland and Hanns Eisler. Bick has the rare ability to write about abstract and technical aspects of music in a manner that will enlighten both scholar and general listener." –Tim Page, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for criticism

New from University of Illinois Press, Sally Bick’s Unsettled Scores: Politics, Hollywood, and the Film Music of Aaron Copland and Hanns Eisler focuses on the film score careers of Aaron Copland and Hanns Eisler in a larger context. Through examination of the composers’ early film projects, like Of Mice and Men, and their writings on film composing, Bick highlights how both composers navigated the clash between artistic ideals, political beliefs, and Hollywood producers. Hear more from Bick in this interview from CBC’s Afternoon Drive with Chris Dela Torre.

Sally Bick is an associate professor of musicology at the University of Windsor. She has won numerous awards and recognitions throughout her career, including the Dena Epstein award from the Music Library Association, an ASCAP Deems Taylor Award, and the Society of American Music’s Virgil Thomson Award. She holds a MM and PhD in musicology from Yale and performance degrees from Indiana University and University of Toronto. Bick’s latest project involves an intellectual and cultural history on the musical legacy of the New School for Social Research and its contributions to New York’s musical modernist and political culture during the 1930s.

For more information about Unsettled Scores and Sally Bick, visit the links below.

Related News

David Del Tredici, 1937-2023

The Aaron Copland Fund for Music mourns the passing of our friend and founding board member, David Del Tredici.

Read more

Midday Thoughts: Summer Break

We’ll be taking a break from our regular monthly series for the summer. In the meantime, enjoy one of our first Midday Thoughts on how Copland’s music has transcended genre boundaries for decades.

Read more

Midday Thoughts: Returning Next Month

We're taking a break this month but will return with a new Midday Thoughts in October. Read on for a recap of the series so far and a look at what's ahead.

Read more